Swinging Oaks

The Swinging Oaks Square Dance Club was started in 1979, when Harold Price, the clubs founder started a series of lessons with approximately 20 couples. They graduated on March 14.1980, and a new club was born.

The club selected as it's first presidents, Delbert and Mary Willis. Club colors at that time were chosen as blue and white. Later red was added, which is now the current colors for the club.

The Swinging Oaks applied for membership in the Heart Of America Federation in 1980, and were sponsored by the Hee Haw Squares, the Swinging Squares, and the Roadrunners Square Dance Clubs.

The Club started dancing in the American Legion Hall in Oak Grove, Missouri, moving later to the Oak Grove High School and ultimately to the Oak Grove Civic Center, where they remained for several years. Then in 2005, they moved once again to Sycamore Hills Elementary School, in Independence, Missouri, which is their present location. They danced twice a month for many years on the first and third Saturdays. In 1998 - 1999 season the club decided to dance once a month on the third Saturdays, which is their current schedule.

The club has only had two callers, since it's beginning, Harold Price who called for the club from it's formation until the 1981 - 1982 Season. Stan Brooke has been the club's only other caller since taking the club calling duties from Harold Price.

We are now celebrating our 25th season! Come try our brand of hospitality, for you are guaranteed an enjoyable evening of square dancing!

Club Presidents

1979-1980: Delbert and Mary Willis

1980-1981: Eldon and Sharon Folkers

1981-1982: Dick and Dorothy Martin

1982-1983: Bill and Ginny DeClements

1983-1984: Marion and Sharon Crisp

1984-1985 & 1985-1986: Dick and Marie Saylor

1986-1987 & 1987-1989: Jerry and Pat Brinier

1989-1990: 1990-1991 & 1991-1992: Dick and Marie Saylor

1992-1993: Rod and Judy Evans

1993-1994, 1994-1995 & 1995-1996: Dick and Marie Saylor

1996-1997: Corbin and Sandi Bushong

1997-1998: John and Teresa Stephens - (Resigned Office)

1997-1998: Terry Heigele and Jo Brown - (elected to finish term)

1998-1999 & 1999-2000: Terry Heigele and Jo Brown

2000-2001, 2002-2003, 2004-2005 and 2005-2006: Glen and Glenna Lunceford

Submitted by Glen and Glenna Lunceford, presidents of the Swinging Oaks - 11/3/2005

Club No Longer Dancing